Posted by: ElliptiGO Girl | September 20, 2009

“We’re going to Disneyland!”

I have not blogged for a while.. Life’s been weird. Hal was diagnosed with ALS at UCLA on August 4th.  Although we’d been forewarned by our local Neurologist that this might happen, it actually came as a total shock to me.  Ever since, I have been living in a fog, with periods of disbelief, anger, terror, despair, and semi-acceptance.

I had signed up for the Disneyland race in July.  At the time, I knew something was wrong with Hal, especially after what happened when he attempted the Los Angeles Marathon in May. I had it in the back of my mind that this might be his last race – or that he might need me – so, even though I have not been able to run on paved surfaces for much of a distance without aggravating my left, semi-fused big toe, I decided to take the plunge and join Hal.

In retrospect, I am really happy I ran the race with Hal. The course was very interesting.  I ran it slowly enough that I was able to really take in everything. I completely cherished every moment – the opportunity to experience the run with my very best friend at my side.

My strategy for running 13.1 miles on a paved surface was maybe questionable.  I attempted to minimize the affect on my problem left big toe my shifting my gait early on to a heel strike on the outside of my foot. And ended up with an annoyingly uncomfortable peronius longus tendinitis/plantar fascitis. My bad.

But, sore or not, it was a race I shall hold dear in my memory forever.
Hallelujah!

Approaching the finish line
Just one more second

Finally - we did it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

