Posted by: ElliptiGO Girl | May 31, 2010

Humans are resilient

Humans are resilient. Humans recover. Physically. Emotionally. George Bonanno, a clinical psychologist, believes psychological resilience is at the core of human grief and trauma reactions. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Bonanno

This morning, I went for a run on the beach. Actually, a 1.5 mile run to the beach, a 3.4 mile on the beach, and a 1.5 mile run home. My first run in about 2 months.

It was slow. It was short, at least compared with the weekend runs I would do last year. But I did it. My back let me do it. My knees let me do it. My body is resilient. And my soul said “Thank you.”

I listened to my iPod shuffle, singing along in spots. Janis Joplin’s version of “Bobbi Mcgee started to play. I sang with it. I remembered how months ago, when I first learned of Hal’s diagnosis of ALS, I went for a run with my iPod. Bobbi MGee came on. I sobbed, cried, and screamed out the words – “Freedom is another word for nothing left to lose” Today, I sang the words with a heavy heart, – but I did not cry.

Hal, October 2008

Body shot, early 2009

Hal, November 2008

On our 30th anniversary bike ride, 7/29/09

ALSA walk, 11/09

At ALS MDA Conference, May 2010

Leave a Reply

Categories

