Posted by: ElliptiGO Girl | June 5, 2010

“Dancing down the beach”

This week while at the supermarket, I ran into Marybeth, a woman who came to my Nordic walking classes for a while last year. Marybeth stopped me and asked how I was doing. I said I was doing well, but Hal was continuing to get weaker. She expressed surprise and concern – turns out the last time she had been to class was prior to Hal’s diagnosis last August. I filled her in a bit. She lightly touched my arm and said “I met Hal once. On a Nordic Walking trip to the beach. I remember watching him fly past everyone, running with his poles. He looked so graceful, so athletic – like he was dancing down the beach. I told you. You smiled and said that’s how he skis too – like he’s dancing down the slopes.”

Hal. My beautiful dancer.

Hal, second from left, with the Nordic Walking group, June 2009

Leave a Reply

Categories

